Tasmanian State Championships

by Richard McMinn

Weekends in February and March are going to be busy for Tasmanian sailors with a number of One-Design and Off The Beach classes holding their State Championships. Check here for a schedule of championships. Results will be posted as they become available.




February 19-21

SB20 (BYC):

1. Brainwave: Scott Brain, Bill Lawrence, Michael Viney

2.Karabos: Nick Rogers, Cole Dabner, Simon Burrows

3. Export Roo: Michael Cooper, David Chapman, Matthew Johnston


February 27-28

B14 (MPYC)

1. Rocketship: Adrian Beswick, Jono Le Bis

2. Epic: Chris & Rani Wells

3. Phantom: Steve Miller, Lauren Bird

Optimist (SBSC)

1. R-Sup: Rupert Hamilton

2. AB: Alice Buchanan

3. Bombora: Ethan Galbraith

Sabot (SBSC)

1. Havoc: Nick Smart

2. Loose Cannon: George Scott

3. Whisper: Bailey Edmunds

29er (SBSC)

1. Amnesia: Hugo & Silas Hamilton

2. Wedgewood: Brendan & Finaly Crisp

3. Barefoot Bandits: Jasmin Galbraith, Chole Fisher


March 4-5

Paper Tiger (SBSC)

1. Macattack: Rob Cracknell

2. The Apprentice: Bruce Rose

3. Sssmokin Billy: Sean Keady

International Cadet (SBSC)

1. Drop Bears: Charles Zeeman, Charlie Bowman

2. Stolen Pig: Fynn Sprott, Lawrence Jeffs

3. Meltemi: Charlie Goodfellow, Toby Legg

Flying 11 (SBSC)

1. Wedgewood: Brendan Crisp, Daniel Maree

2. Hard Drive: William Wallis, Lucia Gasperini

3. Flying Colours: Nicola Racape, Lara Racape

Sharpie (SBSC)

1. One Hump or Two: Drew Latham, Nick Carter, Andrew Rostron

2. Bonfires: Oliver Burnell, Toby Burnell, Josh Brown

3. Dump Truck: Lewis Golding, Flecher, Dave 

Sabre (DSC)

1. Essence: Matt Westland

2. Weekend Warrier: Tony Fist

3. Crossroads: Josh Eggins


March 12-14

NS14 (WYC)

1. Under the Radar: Nick McElwee and Crew

2. Spinifex: Peter and Karen Davis

3. Gumblossom: Peter Cameron and Crew


March 19-20

Mirror (DSC)

1. Kamikaze II: Mark Barrington, Jett Hilder

2. Sky III: Marcus McKay, Hugh Clements

3. Carpe Diem: Jenny Graney, Charlotte Armstron

Laser 4.7 (PDYC)

1. Big G: Max Gluskie

2. Lambordinghy: Will Sargent

3. Fire Cracker: Thomas Males

Laser Radial (PDYC)

1. Red: Sam King

2. High Voltage: Josh Harriss

3. Voom: Ryan Moreton

Laser Full Rig (PDYC)

1. Crude Oil: Zac Pullen

2. The Cats Whiskers: Thomas Cooper

3. Rapid Fire: Jock Calvert


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Weather, Wind & Tides